You can’t hide from your past … (or “If I new then what I know now”)

heartbreaker1My lifelong friend was a heartbreaker in her 20’s. 

She was never evil, or purposeful in breaking hearts – rather extremely beautiful and either romantically ADD or fickle.  I think it was the former.

About two months ago she joined FaceBook and has since had several blasts from the past.  One blast in particular is from a great guy, who after having his heart broken, went on to live a fantastic, exciting life AND somehow get much better looking with time (unfair!).  This has me wondering if the ability to reconnect so easily is a good thing, or could it cause us to question our choices and judge ourselves far more harshly in our more enlightened years?

Does the ability to benchmark our lives against some of the things we regret or wish we would have handled differently cause us to appreciate today less?  Or, would it be better easier if we could let the past lie in the past and never have to wonder if the one that just found us on FaceBook is the one that got away.

What do you think?

2 responses to “You can’t hide from your past … (or “If I new then what I know now”)

  1. I think it is a double-edged sword. On one hand I have been able to get back in touch with people that I probably would never have otherwise. Quite a few have become even better friends than they were when we lost touch. On the other hand I am a competitive person so it can be a good motivator to keep moving things forward 🙂

    In terms of doing things differently, given the chance to do it over again, I think it comes down to perspective. I’m from the camp where every experience, good or bad, should be used as a learning experience. I like to let things die and use them as lessons to help approach future situations differently. Otherwise, if you keep beating yourself up over the past, you can’t really move on to bigger and better things.

    I know this might sound a bit simplistic but it has worked for me so far.

    • I like your way of thinking, Paulo and agree that every experience leads us to where we are today. Hopefully that’s a happy place! Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

